Food preparation ; how to keep it healthy, while eating out?

Hi all!

Today I’d like to talk you about food preparation. How do I organize myself, and how my daily diet looks like.

As I’ve said on my previous post, I work in an office, full time, and I do not have the chance to go home to eat. Mostly of my colleagues, are either going out for lunch, or buying something to take away. And then it’s me. Carrying every day an extra non fashionable bag, with my main meal, and two snacks, as I try to eat every three hours.

This is how my food diary on a normal day looks like:

image1

From left to right:

  • Breakfast: 2 rice waffles with peanut butter, small banana, shredded coconut on the top, and rice latte coffee
  • Snack 1: celery and peanut butter
  • Snack 2 (afternoon): Greek yogurt with jelly
  • Lunch: Variation of green leaves, celery, carrot, cucumber, corn, spicy tuna, and 80-100grams of chickpeas (they are hidden).
  • Dinner: Homemade veal burger 100grs, salad with feta cheese and tomato, pickles, and sweet potato.

I try to eat well, simple, healthy, and I do not starve myself.  There is a simple rule that I try to keep. For lunch, I usually take salads, with small variations; I might put tuna, boiled egg, and always I add either beans, or chickpea, adzuki beans or quinoa. With this simple ingredients, I can prepare a tasty lunch, that keeps me full, and gives my body lots of nutrients. Some days I may add homemade hummus instead of chickpea, nuts, avocado.. the options are endless! And best of it, it takes 10 min to prepare, so I can easily do this while cooking dinner.

For dinner, I personally find for myself more easy to digest cooked dishes at night, instead of watery salads. So usually, I will have some fish or meat, if fish, cooked in the oven, or on the steamer, some veggies, for instance broccoli, and if I worked out that day, I will add potato, or sweet potato. I cook everything but the meat, steamed, so again, it takes only a few minutes, and the food keep its properties, taste, while is low in calories.

I do grocery shopping only once a week,  and my shopping list contains always the following:

  • Pre-cooked legumes
  • mix of green leaves salad bags
  • Vegetables
  • Frozen vegetables such as spinach or broccoli (they are easy to storage, and ready within 10 minutes on the steamer)
  • seasonal fruits
  • Fresh fish -that I will freeze it, and prepare it on the steamerl-
  • chicken and veal minced meat
  • canned tuna
  • yogurt 3-4% fat
  • eggs

So resuming:

  • I eat 5 times a day, (snacks will vary if I have to workout)
  • Fresh green leaves and salads for lunch (adding always carbs and protein)
  • Cooked dishes for dinner
  • I will add starchy carbs to the main meals in work-out days
  • On a non-workout days, I will stick to veggies and protein

Find below some other pics of my on-the-go meals.

fullsizerender-2

salmon, with mushrooms, asparagus, avocado slices, and poached egg

fullsizerender-1

same made for lunch

fullsizerender-3

Bean salad with tuna, cherry tomato, and soy sprouts

I hope that you’ve found this post useful, and as always, i’d love to hear your thoughts, and what are your meal preparation tricks.

Have a great week ahead!

Best,

Leave a Reply

